Wounds Australia Awards.

Clinical Excellence Award

The Wounds Australia Clinical Excellence Award was introduced in 2012 in recognition of a Wounds Australia member's excellence in clinical services that contribute to the delivery of quality patient care.

Clinical Excellence Award winners are Wounds Australia financial members who have delivered excellence in clinical services in Australia, with commitment to:

  • Enhanced clinical effectiveness.
  • Clinical leadership and management, or policy development.
  • Teaching and training in a clinical setting.

Nominations must be made by a full financial member of Wounds Australia. The nomination must be accompanied by a completed consent form from the candidate.


The Wounds Australia Fellow is a prestigious award of Wounds Australia, established to recognise significant service to the organisation or those who have made a significant contribution to wound management in Australia or internationally.

Fellow status is a distinction conferred by Wounds Australia on full members in recognition of outstanding contributions to the advancement of the science and practice of wound management. This award recognises achievements in diverse domains including academic, professional, clinical, legislative, or other meritorious accomplishments. 

Fellows are Wounds Australia members who have delivered outstanding leadership across at least one of the following categories: 
  • Outstanding contribution to Wounds Australia Board, Portfolio, Working Group, Committee or Sub-committee activities
  • Educational leadership
  • Research leadership
  • Clinical leadership.

Our 2022 Fellowship recipients were Dr Peta Tehan and Dr Nicola Frescos. Our congratulations to them both.